Magalhaes web-01.jpg


Connects leading technical universities in Europe and Latin America and the Carribean.

Download our 10 year anniversary booklet here.



Student Mobility between Latin America and Europe

SMILE allows students to study one or two semesters abroad without paying additional fees to the receiving university on the other continent. 


Every year more than 1000 student participate in exchange studies between Magalhães partners. Equal numbers participate from each continent.

If you are student, contact the International Office at your Faculty/University to learn which SMILE partners you can go to!



The Magalhães Network was formed in 2005 to increase the academic exchange and collaboration between Europe and Latin American and the Carribean.  Member Universities and faculties/schools of technology, engineering and architecture. Some are public, some are private. 


The Magalhães Network offers added value to members universities, their students and staff: 
- Effective tools for student exchange 
- Systematic exchange of best practises for internationalization 
- A platform to build relations that can be used to develop joint projects between member universities.


Tha annual General Assembly is the decision making body. held annually. A Follow up committee is the executive bode. It is formed by six member universities, three from each continent. The Magalhães Network has a President and a vice President, representing the two continents. The Presidency is elected for two years and may be re-elected for a second term. The secretariat of the network follows the President. 

The presidency has been held by: 
- Politecnico di Madrid, Spain (2005-2010) 
- Universidad do Saõ Paulo, Brazil (2010-2014) 
- Lund University, Sweden (2014-2018) 


Members – Click to learn more

Université Catholique de Louvain, Belgium

České vysoké učení technické v Praze, Czech Republic

Groupe des Écoles Centrales, France

ParisTech, France

Institut Polytechnique de Grenoble, France

Aalto-yliopisto, Finland

Technische Universität München , Germany

Universität Stuttgart, Germany

Politecnico di Milano, Italy

Politecnico di Torino, Italy

Norges teknisk-naturvetenskapliga universitet, Norway

Akademia Górniczo-Hutnicza, Poland

Instituto Superior Técnico, Portugal

Faculdade de Engenharia da Universidade do Porto, Portugal

Universitat Politècnica de Catalunya, Spain 
Universidad Politécnica de Madrid, Spain 
Universitat Politècnica de Valencia, Spain

Kungliga Tekniska Högskolan, Sweden

Lunds Universitet, Sweden

University of Bath , United Kingdom


Members – Click to learn more

Instituto Tecnológico de Buenos Aires, Argentina
Universidade Estadual de Campinas, Brazil
Universidade Estadual Paulista ”Júlio de Mesquita Filho”, Brazil
Universidade Federal do Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Universidade de São Paulo, Brazil
Pontificia Universidad Católica de Chile, Chile
Universidad de Chile, Chile
Universidad Técnica Federico Santa Maria, Chile
Pontificia Universidad Javeriana, Colombia
Universidad de los Andes, Colombia
Pontificia Universidad Catolica Madre y Maestra, Dominican Republic
Instituto Politécnico Nacional, Mexico

Technológico de Monterrey, Mexico
Universidad Nacional Autónoma de Mexico, Mexico
Universidad Tecnológica de Panamá, Panamá 
Pontificia Universidad Católica del Perú, Perú
Universidad Simón Bolívar, Venezuela 



Send a message to the secreteriat of the Magalhães Network

We will reply as soon as possible

Your details were sent successfully!